A Nutrition Review

July 23, 2008

I was sitting in on a nutrition assessment with several of the hockey players who are training with us during the off-season, and I just sat, listened, and jotted notes down.

Now I have sat in on assessments last year when I was interning at SST, but hearing it again this year was both a great review and made something very clear:

The vast majority of the information given to the hockey players was NOT advanced stuff only known by those performing the latest nutritional lab research. It was in fact, incredibly basic! However, basic was all these athletes needed! Not that this wasn’t expected, but I had forgotten how basic it really was. And I think this uber-basic approach works wonders for so many people looking to improve their body composition or gain size, but often the basics are skipped in search of either more advanced information (because advanced means better, right?)  or for some quick fix solution.

Needless to say, sitting in on the session will also be beneficial to me personally, as I know I have overlooked some of these simple things in my nutritional adventure. This review couldn’t have come at a better time for me, because I really feel that I needed to hear this stuff again!

CB

Leave a Reply

