My typical daily diet

October 18, 2008

At the beginning of August I posted this about my decision to change my dietary habits

Since that I’ve been both successful and unsuccessful in following it, and admittedly my “plan” or course of action has been adapted since I started focusing on having a plan to improve my habits (along with Pat’s suggestion), I’ve decided to post an update.

Basically the reason for the recap is that I didn’t talk a lot about the SPECIFIC changes I was going to make, just my thinking behind why I felt that I should do something to improve my nutritional habits. Of course there’s nothing wrong with that, just that now I’m going to mention those specifics.

The biggest change that I made since I started focusing on my nutrition is keeping a food log. I think I decided this around 3 weeks ago, and since my biggest problem has always been consistency, this has given me a measure of accountability. I’m still far from perfect, but I’m a lot more consistent these days. So here is my journal entry for yesterday:

Day 18: Oct 17/08

6 omega3 eggs, 3 whole wheat tortillas, 6 slices cheddar cheese, 2 cups water
2/3 cup cashews, 2 cups water
1 chicken breast, 1.5 cups brown rice (dry measure), 2 tbsp bbq sauce, 1/8 cup soya sauce
3 cups water
1/2 chicken breast, medium spinach salad, 1/8 cup balsalmic dressing, 2 cups water
fruit smoothie (3 cups): 1 cup frozen raspberries, 1.5 cups assorted frozen fruit, 2 cups 2% milk,
2 scoops Power Whey chocolate
2 cups water

Some things I’ve noticed besides the basic accountability of having to write down everything I eat are:

1) I find it easier to adjust when and WHERE necessary. If I feel I need to adjust anything, I can see what I can add/take away/change; its not just a blind “I think I can add some food to this meal and that meal”. For me this is something I feel makes the process seem simpler.

2) I can track my cheat meals, so they don’t get out of hand.

3) My daily protein shake intake is WAY DOWN. When I used to buy protein (ie. around july-august), I’d have like 4 shakes a day. I think I’ll also post my first journal day to give an idea of changes I’ve made just in the past three weeks:

Day 1: Sept 27/08

2 scoops Power Whey in 1 cup water
5 eggs omega3 eggs scrambled, 5 slices cheddar cheese, 3 whole wheat tortillas, 1 cup water
1 cup water, 2 scoops Quickmass in 1 cup water
1/2 chicken breast, 1/2 cup (uncooked measure) brown rice, 3 cups water
3 Turkey sausages, 2 tbsp bbq sauce, 2 cups water, 1/4 cup cashews
1/2 chicken breast, medium spinach salad, 1/4 cup balsamic dressing, 2 cups water
2 scoops Power Whey in 1 cup water
1 cup water

Basically now my liquid protein intake is 2 shakes a day, plus 1 more if its a training day. And even that I’m trying to cut down to one.

4) I think I’m on number 4….

The biggest thing I’ve noticed, especially in the last three weeks ironically is that eating more doesn’t seem as “impossible” as it did before I kept this journal. I’m not sure if its the journal that has made me realize this or what, but I definitely find it easier to consume more food now.

I’ll leave it at that for now. I’ll weigh myself shortly and keep this updated a little better than I have been.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

CB

2 Responses to “My typical daily diet”

  1. Alexwebmaster Says:

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

  2. anon Says:

    just wanted to say, that your blog is cool, and there are people who read it


Leave a Reply

