Sometimes we all need a reminder…

January 3, 2009

Here’s a great video on the essence of youth sports (though it dealswith hockey specifically). What a great speech/video by Don Lucia, University of Minnesota hockey coach. I got this video from reading Coach Mike’s Boyle’s blog …which if you haven’t read it, should be on your to-do list.

I used to play baseball, and this speech reminds me of my last few years trying to get a college scholarship. Being 5’6″ and 120 pounds in grade 12, I basically ended up working my ass off to be an okay ballplayer. Now, I don’t have regrets since I gained many valuable life lessons and friendships through my years playing baseball…however the last 2 years I played travel team ball, “fun” and “baseball” weren’t the most synonymous terms. Being an “okay” player, I was inconsistent and as a result got reemed out for it…for trying my best (this is something I LOVE about youth sports!! [WARNING = SARCASM])

At the same time, I was playing high school baseball which was a lot less strict, and naturally this was when I had the most fun the last couple years playing ball. 

Anyways, Coach Lucia has a great message which transcends the hockey rink!

Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!!

CB

Leave a Reply

