Justifying my Training Philosophy

March 5, 2009

A couple days ago I wrote about a conversation which lead to me re-thinking my training philosophy as it applied to lower body training — specifically the use of lunges. This has actually been happening quite a bit since I’ve come back from Mike Boyle’s Winter Seminar. Its not so much that I’m thinking that a lot of my beliefs about training are wrong, its more of a case of whats my real reason for using something.

I spend quite a bit of time reading training articles each day (aside from things I need to read for school), and as such, if some coach who had experience and results to show suggested something I was willing to try it. What I’ve come to realize mroe lately is that when people ask me about a certain part of my programming, I don’t say “well because Coach A suggested it”, but my explanations still were a little incomplete. In trying to justify my philosophy, I realized that I had to justify it better…which has meant that I’ve gone back to really find otu why do I beleive something works.

One of these things was the use of the olympic lifts in training athletes. I didn’t use them before my Christmas break, but since then I’ve become pretty enamoured with them. They couldn’t do any wrong! However in writing a couple papers right this month on the topic, I’ve been forced to really take an objective look at their use, which has made me start to realize how this whole training for power should fit together.

Re-examining the role of olympic lifting in my training philosophy, I’ve realized that since December, I’ve viewed the lfits as an end to themselves: “they are the best way to build power, so getting good at them is a high priority”. The last week or so, I’ve started realizing that like any other exercise, they are a means to an end (better athletic performance) and that they are just a piece of the process in developing power. With med balls and plyometrics, I’ve started to view all these as ingredients in the same recipe vs. eahc one being their own one-ingredient recipe.

Now I understand this post is fairly abstract especially if you don’t coach/train people, however it is simply something I’ve started to realize lately — which ironically was inspired by a conversation I had with a professor here at Brock. I say that since often times, I may write about how I can’t believe university profs still teach us outdated methods. This conversation has ended up probably being of one of the most beneficial I’ve had here in the last 4 years. It really made me think about questioning things on a deeper level. 

Enough abractness for today, talk to you guys tomorrow!

CB

One Response to “Justifying my Training Philosophy”


  1. I love the abstracted-ness :). Part of Pavel’s training for KB’s in Enter the Kettlebell is three days of KB’s and two days of variety. The three KB days are the “main event” and I see those variety days as the accessories. I plan to design my next program with three lift days so I am able to maintain the two variety days. I think they’re qutie beneficial to adding what is needed to the main program. I’d say my main program is strength. My variety days address strength in some way (deadlifts right now) then another component to work on an accessory of strength- like my really really awful flexibility or increasing endurance (tabata there or my intervals).

    What I like best about the variety days is that though I do deadlifts each time, they don’t take much time. The rest of my workout varies each time. That variety really keeps me interested rather than repeating the same stuff each time.

    If I were a client of your’s, I’d be glad to have you. I think the best way to learn and expand knowledge is to question what we know and question our beliefs about what we know (or think we know ;) ). The best trainer is one who adapts and continues to grow. Sometimes that might mean saying an old way was crud, but most often, I think you’ll come out ahead of the game.

    Sorry I babble, I’m tired :).


Leave a Reply

