Keeping or losing and audience

May 4, 2009

This is in reference to coaching, be it a large group or a single client. I know this is something I am always working on — just being brief and clear in any exercise or drill instruction I am giving. I find that at times, especially when explaining a more complex exercise (think a deadlift vs. a step up), that I will begin to explain more than just what the client needs to know. Fortunately since this has been something that I’ve had to work on since I started training two years ago, I’ve learned to read people as well as just catch myself in the act which gets me back on track to just get the client doing the exercise.

Another thought I have now is that if a client needs more explanation about an exercise or drill such as if they don’t understand my initial explanation, is to switch to another mode of teaching. So instead of trying to explain it further, I will switch to demonstrating the exercise or putting them in the position I want them to be in. I have found this to be more of an experience thing as I get better at recognizing people’s learning styles with each client I work with.

CB

4 Responses to “Keeping or losing and audience”


  1. Naughty teacher! I like :).

    You’ll keep this audience ;).

    I have similar issues- the worst being a squat. People do all sorts of crazy things so now I just call them knee bends. Mostly though, repeated sit to stands is in the cards when they don’t get the squats. Instead of beating a dead horse in a million different ways, sit to stand works just as well for my purposes. You should see calf raises too… you’d be amazed at the multiple wrong ways to do a calf raise (not something I focus on so I’m not so anal about correcting that if it’s “close enough”).

  2. Chris Brown Says:

    I dont doubt the calf raises…I found the same thing last summer when our athletes would do their dynamic warmups — I didnt think a “simple” dynamic warmup or mobility drill could end up needing so much coaching!! I think its easy for us who teach (in some capacity) exercise or movement for a living to forget whats its like to not be so kinesthetically aware.


  3. Oh, now you reminded me about the “pendulum swing” in shoulder rehab patients! They’re supposed to relax and let their arm swing. Instead, they use the shoulder muscles to move it OR hold it completely stiff so there is no movement and rock their body back and forth so the arm is only moving because what it’s attached to (the body) is moving! Arm circles too…

    Even before this I’ve always felt I’ve been pretty aware physically of my body. Probably why I love to dance so darn much :). These things come naturally to me and seeing someone do it incorrectly after demo after explaination after demo after eplaining again…. well, it tries my patience some days!

    You’ll have to tape one of those dynamic warmups some day so I can get a small laugh out of someone else’s struggles that mirror my own :D.

  4. Chris Brown Says:

    I remember doing those pendulum swings when I injured my shoulder years ago!!! Ha!

    It definitely can get frustrating — especially if we keep having to come up with different ways of teaching!!


Leave a Reply

