Back from the Farmers Market and Talkin’ Food

October 2, 2009

I just came back from the farmer’s market where I picked up some venison and wild boar ( never had wild boar before….), which isn’t a bad lead in for today’s post since I was planning to blog about food anyways, so I’m runnin’ with it.

Anyways, last week I started reading Michael Pollan’s book, In Defense of Food, because of reviews I’ve read of his books as well as a NY Times article he wrote — I just wanted to know more about the food industry all of a sudden I guess. I would have to say it is probably one of the most interesting books I’ve ever read, and has affected how I think about what I put down my piehole. One of the big take-aways from the book so far (besides finding out that margarine at a point in time HAD to be dyed pink BY LAW) has been that eating a “balanced diet” and getting the right amount of fruits and veggies every day probably is leaving people still deficient in many vital nutrients! Why you ask? The soil…it’s not enough to look at what food we eat, we also have to look at the environment in which our food grows to be able to examine the nutritional profile of the food.

Here’s where I’ll get a little more practical: At the gym when we go over people’s nutrition with them, a fairly common question is something like “if I start eating properly do I still need a multivitamin?” For people who get their food from a chain grocery store or have limited access to food from farms then yes because of the quality of the soils a lot of our food is grown in. Even if food is grown on a local farm, soil quality might still be somewhat deficient in nutrients. The point here simply being that it is very difficult to consume food which is not deficient in nutrients either because of the way the food was grown/raised itself or because of the soil it grew in/the soil the corn/wheat/grass it eat grew in. (Let’s not get into the whole corn/wheat thing though!)

In Defense of Food is a very interesting and eye-opening read on the state of our food industry and how our Western eating habits have become so misaligned with those of our ancestors (you don’t even have to go back many generations to see a difference!)

CB

Leave a Reply

