Talking Squats and more Squats

October 22, 2009

Squat day went awesome today!! Nothing heavy but the weights are creeping back up as well as I’m re-grooving my form which is a difficult feeling to describe so I’ll simply say that its pure awesomeness!! I still have a twinge in my right hip flexor from the bulgarian split squat EQIs a couple weeks ago, but lesson learned: don’t load so aggressively since its primarily a type of stretching protocol. As such, I’ve had to make some tweaks to my program so that a) I’m not aggravating the situation and b) so that I don’t have to take any training time off. If you’re so interested to know the tweaks I’ve made, they’d be removing the EQIs completely and not pushing my loading as aggressively on my split squats and reverse lunges.

Anyways, one thing I’ve noticed since I’ve been back in the gym is that my squat pattern is improving in quality. Looking back, I don’t remember the last time I could squat to femur parallel without having my hips tuck under actually which is kind of sad since I’m only 23. Since I’ve started this program, I’ve made it a point to attack this issue by adding the toe touch squat to each day’s warm-up (upper body days included). That said, I do find it hard to believe that doing a set of 8 toe touch squats four times a week is enough to correct the issue.  Perhaps it has been all the dynamic warmup exercises I have demo’d on a daily basis since late April — either way, it has been a pleasant surprise as this has been an issue that has really been difficult for me to clear up in the past.

PS – You might think I’m over-thinking this a little much, and I may actually agree with you…maybe…

Leave a Reply

