Updates Part 4: The Basics are beautiful

November 30, 2009

I hope everyonehas a great weekend! Here’s is part 4 of my updates which I started posting about last week.

4. Manly title eh?! (That’s why I get paid the big bucks btw) In talking with a couple of my new clients, they’ve mentioned that they are pleasantly surprised that they get a challenging workout in without much equipment or fancy exercises. To me this is music to my ears. Plain and simple I don’t think many people need to worry about advanced set/rep schemes, exercises, or excessive volume. Taking that a step further, I think people EARN the more advanced stuff. If you’ve been training for some time, and have made considerable progress feel free to play around with some more advanced methods, but don’t apply for graduation when you’re in first year.

The basics have worked for a long time, and though they aren’t all better than more recent innovations, many are. I for one love simplicity. In terms of exercise: push, pull, and do something for legs and core. Simple. (Coach Boyle credits Mrs. Patrick Ward with saying that, and though I’ve never met her, smart smart lady). Even though its a very simple take on program design, some good effort will yield excellent results.  I believe Dan John, a noted high school strength coach in the States, said that the oldest form of fitness is picking something off the ground and lifting it up overhead. Simple and basic…and effective. The basics may be considered “old-fashioned”, but if they work, they work.

That’s the end of my updates series, so you all can breathe a sigh of relief HA!

CB

Leave a Reply

